Beyond Resistance

Posted on

That’s where I’m up to. Book Three of Steven Pressfields The War of Art. Basically, we all resist doing our Work. Especially us creative types. He said the hardest thing is not writing (or painting or what ever your Work is) but actually sitting down to do it. I have to agree. I used to go to a café with the intention of writing, I ordered a large latte, opened my lap top and started writing. As if on cue, the muse did indeed arrive just like Pressfield says, even though I felt no inspiration stirring inside me, no draw to sit and Work. Although I had the plot and structure worked out in advance, I had no idea before opening the lap top exactly what I was going to write, what would happen next or where things were going. And a book tumbled out over a period of months. A book that had been ruminating for years before. My problem now is, the monster at the gate…

Leave a Reply

