5 things I miss most about Chicken Road

Posted on

Flossy, Queen of Chcicken Road
Flossy, Queen of Chicken Road

1. Flossy
2. Gravy and proper dinners
3. The garden
4. Happy Tuesday
5. Family

It’s humid, they don’t have gravy and I can’t find any wine in the supermarket. I am on the other side of the world and far from Chicken Road and I admit, I am feeling homesick. Only yesterday, I went out and bought (brace yourselves) instant coffee… I know, I know, work of the devil, but my mother drinks it and I while I don’t miss it specifically, I felt driven to take comfort in the familiar. My screen saver is rotating various aspects of Flossy’s evil cat face. I miss her too. I miss her chest crushing weight as she pounced on me around 5am to kneed my throat. I miss hacking back the hedge in the garden. I am also deeply concerned about a potential rise in the slug population, that someone may throw away the rotting garden furniture I took particular pride in perching on without it collapsing, and that the seedlings that were just appearing may have wilted in some freak British heatwave. I miss sitting on the front step in my PJ’s drinking my coffee and waving at the neighbours while the cat fought to defend her territory and The Child ran into the street naked. I miss Happy Tuesday and walking through fields of sheep poo to buy wine, and nuts and cat food. I miss having my family around me, and of people (including random neighbours and non-resident relatives) walking in through the front door like they own the place shouting ‘hellooooo!”

Thank God for Skype. And my return ticket.

3 thoughts on “5 things I miss most about Chicken Road

    Hazel Hay said:
    June 30, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Hi Heather, auntie Hazel here, you will be fine. wd love to talk on skype soon, we must catch up. x

    Hazel Hay said:
    June 30, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    What the hell is that creature next to my comment???!!!

    hjblenkinsop responded:
    July 1, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    wa ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

